How StudyLink can help you

There are a number of ways in which StudyLink can help you pay for your study.

You’ll need to apply early for a Student Loan and/or Allowance with StudyLink so you can get everything sorted in time, including your payments.

StudyLink may be able to help with:

  • compulsory course fees
  • course-related costs (e.g. books, laptop, etc.)
  • day-to-day living costs
  • other costs (e.g. disability or childcare)

How much you can get depends on your age, income and course type.

For more information visit their website www.studylink.govt.nz or call them on 0800 88 99 00 

Student Loan

Student Loan can help with paying for your course fees (the compulsory fees charged by your education provider), study materials (e.g. books, computer, travel) and living costs, but you'll have to pay it back.

Find out more about Student Loans

Student Allowance

A Student Allowance is a weekly payment that can help with your living expenses while you’re studying, and if you're eligible you don’t have to pay the money back.

Find out more about Student Allowances

If you intend to apply for a Student Loan and/or Student Allowance with StudyLink please do so as soon as possible to ensure it is sorted and doesn't interrupt your studies.

StudyLink & Fees-Free drop-in sessions

At the beginning of each semester, our Student Support Advisors run drop-in sessions to support students who are applying for a Student Loan, Student Allowance, and Fees-Free.

See the dropdown lists below for the current schedule and location for each campus.

Mt Albert campus

Building 180 (Te Puna), Level 1, Mt Albert campus. The computer lab opposite Student Central (Te Pae Kōrero).

Date Time
Tuesday, 16 July 11am - 1.30pm
Thursday, 18 July 12.30pm - 1.30pm
Tuesday, 23 July 11am - 1.30pm
Thursday, 25 July 11am - 1.30pm
Tuesday, 30 July 11am - 1.30pm
Thursday, 1 August 11am - 1.30pm
Tuesday, 6 August 11am - 1.30pm
Thursday, 8 August 11am - 1.30pm

Waitākere campus

Building 510, Level 1, Waitākere campus. At Student Central (Te Pae Kōrero).

Date Time
Monday, 15 July 11am - 1.30pm
Wednesday, 17 July 11am - 1.30pm
Monday, 22 July 11am - 1.30pm
Wednesday, 24 July 11am - 1.30pm
Monday, 29 July 11am - 1.30pm
Wednesday, 31 July 11am - 1.30pm
Monday, 5 August 11am - 1.30pm
Wednesday, 7 August 11am - 1.30pm

Outside of these dates and times, make an appointment with our Student Support Advisors for support. Visit their page to find out how.

Are you looking for