Register now for Uni Shorts 2016

25 short films have been selected from around the world to be screen in competition at this year’s Uni Shorts International Student Film Festival on Saturday, 15 October. Prizemoney of NZ$500 will be awarded to each winner: Best Animation, Best Experimental, Best Documentary, Best Undergraduate Fiction, Best Postgraduate Fiction and Best NZ Secondary Schools Film. There will be an additional NZ$500 awarded to the winner of the Audience Award which will be decided by audience vote at the festival.

UNI SHORTS 2016 will be held at the Red Lecture Theatre, Unitec Institute of Technology campus in Mt Albert, Auckland. This year’s theme will be about ‘Collaboration’.

Registration is now open for those who want to attend. To get your tickets to UNI SHORTS click on this link

Registration cost is $20 adults/general, $15 for students and FREE for filmmakers who entered their film. Entry cost includes lunch and attendance to the Awards Night.

To see the list of films selected and to find more information on UNI SHORTS 2016 go to the website or email UNI SHORTS coordinator Peter Rees at for details.

UNI SHORTS is the only student film festival of its type in Australasia catering to both tertiary/university and secondary school young filmmakers. The festival was the idea of film students studying at Unitec’s Performing and Screen Arts in Auckland, New Zealand who wanted to create a platform to showcase student film work and discuss issues relevant to emerging filmmakers about to enter the industry. The inaugural event was held in Auckland in 2012.

If you missed out entering your film this year, we will be Calling for Entries for UNI SHORTS 2017 in November 2016.

1. re/belief, Raymond McCarthy Bergeron, Rochester Institute of Technology/USA, Animation
2. Natural Attraction, Marc Zimmermann, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg/Germany, Animation
3. Horizon, Eel with it, Media Design School/New Zealand, Animation
4. Warm Snow, Ira Elshansky, Bezalel Academy of Art and Design, Israel, Animation
5. Disillusion, Qian Zhao, Shanghai Theatre Academy/China, Experimental
6. Sophie’s World, Hao Bi, University of Auckland /New Zealand, Experimental
7. Terpsichore, Ken Clark, Canterbury University/New Zealand, Experimental
8. Man in the cinema house, Bernard Jay Mercado, University of the Philippines Film Institute, Experimental
9. LaValla, Sasha Folker, Queensland University of Technology/Australia, Documentary
10. Keeping Balance, Bernard Wegner, Filmacademy Vienna/Austria, Documentary
11. The Rate’s Cut, Pico Nicolas, ECAM/Spain, Documentary
12. Fragments of our memory, Ajinkya Kulthe/N. Wakhloo, Sri Aurobindo Centre for Arts & Com/India, Documentary
13. Lookout, Noa Gusakov, Sam Spiegel Film & TV School/Israel, U/Fiction
14. Neverland now, Georg Pelzer, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar/Germany, U/Fiction
15. Razor, Alexey Beliakov, Russian State University of Cinematography, U/Fiction
16. Generation Girl, Megan Baker, Sydney Film School/Australia, U/Fiction
17. Shadowboxer, Jannis Lenz, Filmacademy Vienna/Austria, U/Fiction
18. Jasmin and Jerome, Paloma Schneideman, Unitec Performing & Screen Arts/New Zealand, U/Fiction
19. Not like her, Hash Perambalam, University of Auckland/New Zealand, Postgrad Fiction
20. Probation, Thomas Eggel, Hamburg Media School/Germany, Postgrad Fiction
21. Time Machine, Anna Hall-Taylor St Cuthberts College Sec School
22. Two, Rawiri Takinui, Aorere College/ New Zealand, Sec School
23. Connected, Amazir Aknine, Christ’s College/ New Zealand, Sec School
24. Nvader, Hunter Williams, St Kentigern College/ New Zealand, Sec School
25. To the Rescue Mason Cade Packer Kapiti College/New Zealand Sec School

TOTAL: 25 films